Umpires, Hosts Announced For This Year’s Little League World Series – Williamsport Sun-Gazette

The official umpires for both the Little League Baseball and Softball World Series were announced as part of a celebration of National Little League Week.

“Providing a safe and memorable Little League experience is the main priority for all of our umpires at every level of play within our program, and even more important during the World Series each summer,” Little League director of umpire development Tom Rawlings said in a statement. “We are thankful to all the volunteers who have agreed to serve as umpires at this year’s Little League Baseball and Softball World Series and are grateful to the flexibility of those volunteers who will take the field in 2022.”

The umpires, who were originally selected to work the events in 2020, were offered the opportunity to accept their selection to serve in 2021 or defer to participate in the events in 2022. Each event will feature 12 umpires.

The umpires for the Little League Softball World Series in Greenville, North Carolina on August 11-18 are David Byars (Bradenton, Florida), Mike Comeau (Manchester, Connecticut), Rene Cruz (Brownsville, Texas), Charles Jojola (Isleta, New Mexico), Jayne Lee (Cottonwood, Arizona), Mitchell Lemponen (Ashtabula, Ohio), Mark Lucas (Oviedo, Florida), Don Mason (Anderson, Indiana), Joe Smith (Rising Sun, Maryland), Mark Teagle (San Jose, California), Dale Wheeler (Saint Cloud, Florida) and Brian Wolfe (Fredericksburg, Virginia).

The Little League Baseball World Series in South Williamsport on August 19-29 will be Darrin Besecheck (Shelton, Connecticut), Colin Campbell (Albuquerque, New Mexico), Dave Cofield (San Antonio, Texas), Mike Debelak (Torrance, California), Ricci Hall (Spencer, Massachusetts), Brian Henry (Toccoa, Georgia), Bryan Horne (Blountville, Tennessee), Patrick Griffin (Galesburg, Michigan), Sean Guilday (Kunkletown, Pennsylvania), Jason Kelley (Deerfield, Wisconsin), Brian Rounds (Rathdrum, Idaho) and Chris Rutz (Oceanside, California).

The team hosts for this year’s World Series in South Williamsport were also announced.

“From veteran hosts who have come back for decades, to a group of newcomers joining us this year, every one of these volunteers plays an important role in making the Little League experience memorable for our participants, and we are incredibly thankful for everything they do,” Little League chief operating officer Patrick W. Wilson said in a statement.

The team hosts are Doug Alexander (16 years of volunteer sevice), Matt Burrows (2), Ryan Cioffi (1), Marlin Cromley (22), Lou Cromley (2), Lynn Datres (20), Chuck DeLuca (6), Jamie Foster (3), Jamie Flick (1), Ron Frick (18), George Girio (33), Joe Girio (23), Stan Helt Sr. (16), Jim Kriner (18), Denny Loner (22), Chris Long (1), Mike Lundy (12), Josh Lupacchino (8), Pete Lupacchinio (28), Scott Metzger (12), Lee Miller (20), Mike Miller (6), Frank Missigman (16), Larry Missigman (29), Terry Parker (3), Bill Pearson (2), Tom Rachael (22), Van Ransom (16), Walt Reed (2), Cherie Rogers (3), Chris Rogers (2), Bruce Sechrist (17), Rick Smith (11), Rob Stetts (1), Jeff Thompkins (10), Gary Weaver (23), Willy Weber (14), Gary Whiteman (5) and Carol Zyssett (20).

Today’s breaking news and more in your inbox