Florida Workers Compensation Insurance Laws – Forbes Advisor – Forbes

Editorial Note: Forbes Advisor may earn a commission on sales made from partner links on this page, but that doesn’t affect our editors’ opinions or evaluations.

Business Insurance Made Simple Compare Free Quotes From Top Insurers at SimplyBusiness. Get a Policy in Under 10 Minutes.

Workers compensation insurance pays for medical care, on-going physical therapy, disability benefits, lost wages and other benefits should an employee get hurt or sick in a work-related incident. Each state determines the workers compensation laws for companies in their state.

Here’s a closer look at Florida workers comp insurance.

Who Must Have Florida Workers Comp Insurance Most but not all Florida companies are required to get workers compensation insurance in the state of Florida. Here’s who must have it:

Employers who have four or more employees including business owners who are corporate officers or Limited Liability Company (LLC) members Construction employers who have one or more employees including business owners who are corporate officers or LLC members Agricultural employers with six regular employees and/or 12 seasonal employees who work more than 30 days during the season but no more than a total of 45 days in a calendar year Workers can report businesses that do not comply with the Florida workers compensation laws. You can also report suspected fraud by calling a toll-free hotline number at 1-800-378-0445.

What Florida Workers Comp Covers Under Florida workers comp law, accidental injuries and diseases arising out of the course of employment are both covered.

In Florida, if you are injured as a result of a work-related accident or illness, your employer’s workers compensation coverage may entitle you to medical benefits and some wage replacement benefits.

In Florida, workers compensation for medical benefits includes:

Doctor visits Hospitalization Physical therapy Medical tests Prescription drugs Here’s what else can be paid for by Florida workers comp insurance:

Travel expenses to and from an authorized treatment center or pharmacy are also covered by workers comp in Florida.

Wage replacement benefits are available if your earnings are lower because of a work-related injury. The wage replacement will equal two-thirds of your regular weekly wage prior to the injury.

Temporary total disability benefits are provided as a result of an injury or illness that temporarily prevents you from returning to work.

Temporary partial disability benefits are offered when a doctor releases you to return to work with restrictions.

Permanent impairment benefits are available when the injury or illness causes physical, psychological or functional loss on a permanent basis.

Permanent total benefits are provided when the injury causes you to be permanently and totally disabled.

Death benefits are paid for deaths resulting from workplace accidents and include the payment of funeral expenses and dependency benefits.

Workers compensation benefits for lost wages start on the eighth day that the injured employee is unable to work. In most cases, the wage replacement benefits will be equal to two-thirds of the employee’s regular weekly wage.

Exclusions to Workers Comp Payments There are situations excluded from workers compensation coverage in Florida. These include a mental or a nervous injury due to stress, fright or excitement.

In addition, workers compensation will not be paid in Florida if the injury is caused primarily because the employee was intoxicated or under the influence of drugs.

Florida Workers Compensation Cost The cost of workers compensation in Florida is based on three primary factors: the payroll of the business, the types of work performed by employees and the employer’s claims history.

Payroll reflects a company’s size and the larger the payroll the larger the total cost for worker compensation. The types of work at your company also play a role. The more risky the work, the costlier your workers compensation insurance will be. If you have filed workers compensation claims in the past, you’ll pay a higher price. Workers comp insurance in Florida costs about 26 cents per $100 in payroll for employees in low-risk jobs and $19.40 for every $100 in payroll for workers in high-risk jobs, according to Cerity.

You can lower the costs for Florida workers compensation premiums with discounts:

There’s a 2% discount for having a workplace safety program There’s a 5% discount for a drug-free workplace program Self-insured businesses in Florida can also get these credits. Each of these programs must be renewed every year.

Finding Workers Comp Insurance in Florida You can get workers compensation insurance in Florida by contacting a business insurance agent.

If you cannot obtain workers compensation coverage in the standard workers compensation market, your insurance agent can contact the Florida Workers Compensation Joint Underwriting Association (FWCJUA). Workers compensation rates through the FWCJUA will be higher than rates in the standard market.

There is no need for Florida employees to worry about paying any part of a workers compensation premium. Florida law is very clear on this point: It is the employer’s responsibility to pay the entire premium for workers compensation insurance.

Largest Workers Comp Insurance Companies in Florida Reporting Workers Comp Injuries Florida employees are encouraged to report work-related incidents involving injuries and illnesses as soon as they occur. By Florida law, employees are required to report work-related injuries and illnesses within 30 days to their employers.

Florida employers should report the employee’s illness or accident to their workers compensation insurance company as soon as possible. By Florida law, employers have seven days to make this report from the time they become aware of the illness or injury. If they fail to do so, they may be subject to an administrative fine of up to $2,000 per occurrence.

Most insurance companies have a toll-free number to report work-related injuries and illnesses. The employer also needs to fill out a first report of injury or illness form and send it to the insurance company.

As soon as the employer notifies the insurance company about the work-related injury or illness, the insurance company may:

Consider the injury or illness Provide an authorized doctor Pay for all authorized and necessary medical care related to the illness or injury Business Insurance Made Simple Compare Free Quotes From Top Insurers at SimplyBusiness. Get a Policy in Under 10 Minutes.